Omkar Salvi, on Friday, was retained as the head coach of Mumbai men’s senior coach after guiding Mumbai to its 42nd Ranji Trophy title in March. Sanjay Patil, the veteran selector, was elevated to the chief selector’s post after Rajeev Kulkarni vacated the post earlier in the week.

Ajinkya Naik, the Mumbai Cricket Association secretary, announced the coaches and selectors’ appointments, which was finalised by the Cricket Improvement Committee (CIC), through a media statement.

Salvi, who took over as the head coach for the first time last season, earned the respect and trust of the players and the administrators as Mumbai ended its eight-year Ranji title drought.

With Mumbai having had a fruitful domestic season across age-group categories in men and women, the CIC preferred to stick to consistency.

ALSO READ: BCCI to invite applications for new head coach of Indian men’s team

As a result, since Kulkarni vacated his post, Salvi was handed the charge as the CIC chairman in place of Lalchand Rajput, who has now taken over as the United Arab Emirates head coach.

Patil, the former left-arm spinner with vast experience as a selector, was thus elevated as the chief selector.

The vacant post of the selector in the five-member committee has been filled up with former off-spinner Vikrant Yeligati, who was a part of the junior selection committee last season.

With Mumbai’s senior won the domestic T20 trophy and finished second in the One Day Championship last season, Sunetra Paranjape has also been handed an extension as the women’s head coach.


Men’s: Senior: Omkar Salvi; Under-23: Rajesh Pawar; Under-19: Dinesh Lad; Under-16: Sandesh Kawle; Under-14: Nilesh Masurkar.

Women: Senior: Sunetra Paranjape; Under-23: Ajay Kadam; Under-19: Sarvesh Damle; Under-15: Aparna Kambli.

Selection committees:

Senior & Under-23: Sanjay Patil (Chairman), Ravindra Thakkar, Jeetendra Thackeray, Kiran Powar, Vikrant Yeligati.

Under-19: Deepak Jadhav (Chairman), Mandar Phadke, Umesh Gotkhindikar, Bhavin Thakkar, Piyush Soneji.

Under-16: Onkar Khanvilkar (Chairman), Jayprakash Jadhav, Prashant Sawant, Kersi Pavri, Amol Bhalekar.

Under-14: Ravi Kulkarni (Chairman), Zulfiqar Parkar, Rohan Raje, Azim Khan, Santosh Jagtap.


Senior and Under-23: Laya Francis (Chairperson), Seema Pujare, Shraddha Chavan, Sheetal Sakru, Kalpana Cardoso.

Under-19: Sunita Singh (Chairperson), Aparna Chavan, Sangeeta Kamat, Veena Paralkar, Kalpana Murkar.

Under-15: Manish More (Chairman), Ashish Mahadeshwar, Swati Patil, Nancy Daruwala, Nilima Patil.