Nikhat Zareen was adjudged Sportswoman of the Year in Olympic Sports at the 2023 Sportstar Aces Awards in Mumbai on Monday.

On May 19, 2022, when Zareen won the gold medal in the 52kg category at the Women’s World Championship in Istanbul, she became only the fifth Indian boxer and the first since Mary Kom in 2018 to win a world title.

She was also the first, apart from Mary, to win a title outside India. Zareen would follow up her gold at Turkey with another at the Commonwealth Games, where she became only the third woman boxer from India to place on top of the podium.

Legendary India cricketer Sunil Gavaskar, former India hockey captain M. M. Somaya, chess great Viswanathan Anand, former India football skipper Bhaichung Bhutia, Olympic gold medallist Abhinav Bindra, and Olympians Anjali Bhagwat and Aparna Popat are the members of the Sportstar Aces 2023 jury.

The event is supported by IDFC First Bank, Indian Oil, India Cements, United India, Ramaiah University, Experimenta Science Center GD Naidu Charity, Finolex Pipes, LIC, BPCL, Samsonite, Big Basket, Nippon Paint, CRICHQ, Wordswork, NewsX and Casagrand.