Afghanistan, on Tuesday, announced a 15-member squad for the ICC T20 World Cup starting in June in the West Indies and the USA.

Rashid Khan was named captain of the squad which also had three travelling reserves — Sediq Atal, Hazartullah Zazai and Saleem Safi.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz. Najib Zadran and Ibrahim Zadran form the core batting group which will be ably supported by the slew of all-rounders including Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi and the skipper himself.

ALSO READ: India’s T20 World Cup Squad 2024: Kohli, Samson in 15-member squad; Chahal returns; Rinku Singh, Gill in reserves

Mujeeb ur Rahman and Noor Ahmad find a place in the bowling department along with regular pacers Naveen ul Haq and Fazalhaq Farooqi.

Afghanistan begins its World Cup 2024 journey against Uganda, before facing New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and West Indies in Group C.

Afghanistan Squad

Batters: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Ibrahim Zadran, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammed Ishaq (WK)

All-rounders: Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan (C), Nangyal Kharoti

Bowlers: Mujeeb ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Naveen ul Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad Malik

Reserve Players: Sediq Atal, Hazartullah Zazai, Saleem Safi