The state’s peak planning body will go through a reform next month, with new members to be appointed but the size of the panel reduced.

Six new members have been appointed to the Western Australian Planning Commission, to start on July 1.

As part of the state government’s planning reforms, the WAPC will be reduced from 16 members to a maximum of nine.

Former City of Vincent mayor Emma Cole will join the commission as deputy chair, returning to the WAPC after being a member from 2020 until late 2023.

Other members appointed to the WAPC are Megan Adair, Urbis director Ray Haeren, engineer Paul Lakey, regional urban planner Ryan Hall, and City of Bayswater community services director Bianca Sandri.

Ms Adair was a planning director at Satterley Property Group before she launched her own business Adair Advisory in December.

Ms Sandri founded Urbanista Town Planning in 2016 and was a director at the company until October last year.

The new members will join WAPC chair David Caddy and existing members, environmental scientist Helen Brookes and urban planner Jane Bennett.

Planning Minister John Carey said the modernised WAPC was part of creating a contemporary and more efficient system.

“A more strategically focused WAPC was a key theme in feedback from our review process and a smaller board will provide the agility, skills and expertise to provide leadership in integrated land use planning,” he said.

“I thank everyone who nominated for positions on the reformed WAPC and appreciate the strong interest in leadership roles in our planning system.

“I congratulate the new and returning members and look forward to working with the WAPC as we continue to plan for long-term development, economic and housing opportunities for all Western Australians.”